skip to content

Family Medicine Teaching Unit

Request an Appointment

Book an appointment with your Doctor or Nurse Practitioner Online

Need a New Doctor

New Patients can request to have a New Primary Care Provider

After Hours Care

Book an appointment for our after hours Urgent Care Clinic

Our Family Health Team is in partnership with the University of Toronto and the Family Medicine Teaching Unit (FMTU).

Established in 2009 in partnership with the Department of Family and Community Medicine at the University of Toronto, Southlake's Family Medicine Teaching Unit enrolls 9 family medicine physician trainees (seven Canadian and two international medical graduates) every year for a two-year program.

The Family Medicine Teaching Unit (FMTU) is a medical setting where first and second year medical resident physicians will receive their specialty training as a Family Physician.  Each resident will manage his/her own practice of patients, under the supervision of our experienced family physicians. With a shortage of health professionals in the community, this program provides healthcare to patients who might not otherwise have a family physician.

The FMTU has 11 teachers providing training for the residents, who are family physicians that also have their own practices at the Southlake Family Health Team. In addition to this, the residents work alongside nurse practitioners, social workers, pharmacist, caseworkers and other healthcare professionals in the Southlake Family Health Team to provide the highest quality of care for their patients.

The physicians at the Southlake Family Health Team have been recognized by the University of Toronto's Department of Family and Community Medicine for their achievements in the resident's educational program:

Dr. Milena Markovski, Helen Batty Excellence in Faculty Development Award

Dr. Julian Manzone, Excellence in Leadership Award

Dr. Navsheer Gill and the Faculty QI Series Team, Jamie Meuser Faculty Development Impact Award

Dr. Shyan Van Heer, Leadership Award

Dr. Monica Nijhawan, Staff Excellence Award

Dr. Navsheer Gill, Excellence in Leadership Award

Rhonda Taylor, Excellence in Teaching Award

Dr. Navsheer Toor, Excellence in Teaching Award (Early Career) in the Community Affiliated category

Dr. Gurpreet Mand, Award for Sustained Excellence in Teaching in the Community Affiliated category

Dr. Lana Kiehn, Annual Postgraduate Teaching Award

Dr. Karim Abdel Shahid, Postgraduate Award of Excellence

Dr. Monica Nijhawan, Faculty Development Program Award

Dr. Paul Cantarutti, Excellence in Education Award from the Southlake Regional Health Centre

Dr. David Makary, Department of Family and Community Medicine Undergraduate Education Program "Teaching in the Family Medicine Clerkship (Hospital-Based)" Award

Dr. Paul Cantarutti, Excellence in Community-Based Teaching Award from the Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto

Dr. Robert Doherty, Award for Educational Achievement in Program Leadership

Dr. Paul Cantarutti, Faculty and Staff Achievement Award in Educational Achievement Innovation in Education

Dr. Gurpreet Mand, Award for Excellence in Faculty Development

Dr. Paul Cantarutti, Excellence for New Teachers Award

Our Partners
  • Southlake Community OHT
  • Southlake Regional Health Centre
  • Aurora-Newmarket Family Health Team
  • Health for All Family Health Team
  • Family & Community Medicine, University of Toronto
  • Centre for Addiction and Mental Health
  • Heart & Stroke Foundation
  • La Leche League Canada
  • Central Regional Cancer Program
  • Thrombosis Canada
  • Osteoporosis Canada